Instructors from MSE, CHSS Receive JGB Faculty Excellence Awards

June 17, 2015 -- Two faculty members from CNM’s School of Math, Science & Engineering and one in the School of Communication, Humanities & Social Sciences have been selected to receive the 2015 Jon Gil Bentley Faculty Excellence Award.

Jul 17, 2015

The award winners from MSE are Clarissa Sorensen-Unruh, who teaches chemistry, and Susan Johnson, a biology instructor. The award winner from CHSS is Patricia Seitz, a sociology instructor.

The JGB Faculty Excellence Award was named after Jon Gil Bentley, a beloved employee of the former Arts & Sciences division before it was split into MSE and CHSS. He was a full-time faculty member in English for many years and then associate dean. He worked tirelessly as an advocate for faculty and faculty professional development. After his death, a CNM Foundation account was established in his name to which employees can donate.

Each participating school receives $500 to provide to faculty members for JGB Awards. If there is more than one recipient in a school, the $500 is split evenly.

Faculty members receiving JGB Awards are recognized for having demonstrated excellence in one or more categories, including teaching excellence, collegial excellence, excellence in student success and innovation in teaching.