CNM’s All-State Academic Students Honored at Legislature

February 17, 2015 -- Fourteen CNM students have been named to the Phi Theta Kappa New Mexico All-State Academic Team and each will receive a $15,000 scholarship. They were recently honored at the New Mexico Legislature and will be recognized at the March 10 CNM Governing Board meeting.
CNM’s All-State Academic Students Honored at Legislature

Jul 17, 2015

The students – Samuel Cardenas, Terrianne Doner, Martha (Estella) Gamboa, Robert Jones, Sonya Lara, Emilio Martinez, Terence Mitchell, Shawn Montano, April Pitcher, Irene Saenz, Renee Tafoya, Theresa Talley, Benjamin Ulibarri and Addrienne Webb – are joining an elite group. Less than one percent of America’s six million two-year college students have distinguished themselves with this superior level of academic achievement and service to their colleges and communities.

Each state selects its own All-State Academic Team and holds its own recognition award ceremony for the recipients.

New Mexico recognized its All-State team Feb. 11 during the legislative session. The award recipients introduced themselves to the Education Committee and mentioned their educational goals for continuing their education at universities. That was followed by personal congratulatory greetings by the senators. The students were mentioned again on both the House and Senate floors. Following their recognitions, the students had lunch with CNM Vice President Philip Bustos, Dean of Students Rudy Garcia and Student Activities Supervisor Brandon Seber.

Each student will receive $15,000 scholarships to pursue bachelor’s degrees at a New Mexico public university of their choice to cover tuition for four semesters. It becomes effective once the scholarship winners begin their studies at the state university of their choice.

To be eligible for the All-New Mexico Academic Team, the students are required to have a minimum 3.5 grade point average with at least 45 credit hours on their transcripts. They were also judged on criteria such as participation in student organizations, community service, awards and special recognitions, and an essay.

Students from the 38 participating states nominated to the All-USA Community College Academic Team are automatically named to the All-State Community College Academic Teams. Scholarship sponsors are Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society for two-year colleges, New Mexico Association of Community Colleges and New Mexico Independent Community Colleges.

Phi Theta Kappa was founded in 1918 to emphasize and recognize academic excellence in two-year colleges. Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.5 million members in the United States, U.S. territories, Canada and Germany.